Where In The World is Steven Spielberg?

21 09 2009

The first time I saw Raiders of the Lost Ark, I thought it was the coolest thing I’d ever seen on the TV screen. I’d love to say I saw it in theatres, but the film came out in 1981, and I was a mere baby. However, I wore that VHS tape out (although it could have been Betamax. My parent’s were early adopters, I guess.) The Karate Kid, E.T., The Goonies, Back to the Future, Flight of the Navigator… They were all, and still are burned into my brain like a pleasant family memory. The 80’s marked, in my opinion, the greatest era for film so far. I understand part of that is nostalgia, but I really do believe it was a better time to be at the movies. The stories didn’t revolve around the biggest and best special effects (although there were major break-throughs in that department.) No, at the core of all these films was a great story.

https://i0.wp.com/blogs.fayobserver.com/entertainment/files/2009/07/karate.jpg

But where have these movies gone? It was hard to put my finger on it, but I think one of the biggest issues is lack of a great story. I also think movies fail to put kids in any kind of danger anymore. It’s all so whitewashed and boring. Where is the adventure?! Do you think Stand By Me would have been an effective film if Gordie, Chris, Teddy and Vern weren’t smoking, packing some heat and almost getting run over by a train?

https://i0.wp.com/www.guidetoliteraryagents.com/blog/content/binary/stand%20by%20me.jpg

Enough with the good ol’ days soap box. The point is, I love 80s films, and even people like Spielberg have gotten away from the magic that made the 80s so fun to visit the drive-in. That’s why I’m posting this. Patrick Prejusa is a personal friend of mine and indie film maker. I’ve known him for over a decade, and even worked my first job with him (at a movie theatre no less.) He’s written a screenplay called Bobby’s Closet, which is set to start filming soon (which he will also be directing.) I want you to check out this video blog (or “Vlog” for the interweb savvy.) I think it looks really promising, and it also plans to help fight something bigger than just missed 80s nostalgia. Patrick has also committed a portion of any and all profits from the film to cancer research. I think we can all get behind that.

Check it out:

Be sure to check out bobbysclosetmovie.com for updates on the production.


Actions

Information

4 responses

21 09 2009
Nick Carraway

Anyone else subscribe to my theory that the reason movies tend to lack originality these days is that writers, for the most part, have run out of original ideas? Therefore, we get the same recycled plots, over and over again…just saying…

21 09 2009
Gadi

Ever Heard of Charlie Kaufman, Guillermo Arriaga, or Tony Gilroy – Nick there are some great writers out there that aren’t making “repeat” films. Just gotta search. Steven not only made gold her also credited the BLOCKBUSTER and that ruined “Original” thought in film – but not entirely. There are still a lot of good scripts and thus good movies.

30 09 2009
Jimmy

It’s not that writers are lacking original ideas, it’s that studios can make a better ROI if they sacrifice quality for gimmicks.Short list of things wrong with Hollywood:1)Film makers making video games, and video game creators making films.2)70s tv show films3)Using “Star” voice talent rather than trained voice actors in animated films.4) Plug plot holes? Nah, let’s just add more CG and side boob.5) Shrek was funny, but referential pop humor in films ruins the rewatchability. Nothing screams “out to make a quick buck” like jokes about Soulja Boy, The Hills, or Twitter.This mentality brought to us the film abortions known as Scary Movies I-MCLXXVII, Epic Movie, Date Movie, Suicide Movie, Grocery Store Movie, Dog Movie, French Toast Movie (Curse you Wayans Bros)

3 10 2009
Mark

+1 Jimmy!I call for more side boob in Spielberg films…

Leave a comment