LAST WEEKEND: Pete Yorn/Ben Kweller at The Granada

18 04 2011


Pete Yorn supplied the soundtrack to most of my college experience. musicforthemorningafter is easily one of my favorite records of the past 10 years and a real tough act to follow. But since then, Pete has put out five solid records, including the one with Scarlett Johansson (which I happened to like). That said, it has been years since the last time I’ve seen him live and I was pretty stoked.

Friend of the show, Ben Kweller, started things off solo style.

I prefer him with a full band, but he still displayed a surprisingly big sound with just an acoustic/electric guitar and a piano.

Pete took the stage shortly after 10p and started the show with my favorite cover of one of my favorite songs, “Panic” by The Smiths.

I’m sure he saw my pre-show tweet and added that to the set list. But, of course, it was the songs from the first record that drew the biggest reaction.

Lucky for the capacity crowd at the Granada, the set was full of jams from his debut opus. I geeked out just a little bit after the show when I got to meet him.


Random observation
: Every girl that came up to Pete after the show immediately hugged him. No words, just hugs. This guy has probably hugged every girl in the world. Twice.

Also, the ladies hated Break Up….mostly out of jealousy for Scarlett.

Thanks, as always, to the greatness of the Granada Theater. They know how to do it right.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

