EA SPORTS vs UFC

3 08 2009

/* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:”Table Normal”; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:””; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-
font:minor-latin;}



Hello pearl snap world discounters, I am Eric Gray contributor to this fine website.  My day job is working for a company called EA SPORTS.  No I am not a engineer or developer.  In other words I’m not smart nor am I rich.  I work for EA SPORTS.com as a content manager and videographer.  I won’t write up too many text entries because I am a fan of the audio and video medium, but I wanted to talk briefly with you about EA SPORTS MMA.  If you didn’t see the news at E3 or the announcement last week.  EA SPORTS has thrown themselves into the MMA arena.  Obviously I will be biased, but fair, much like FOX News or whichever wheels off political network you support.  I have 4 sound but dismissible opinions to touch on.

 

/* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:”Table Normal”; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:””; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

1.       Can EA SPORTS take on THQ and the UFC  Undisputed?  I have no idea, I have a close friend that is working on EA SPORTS MMA and we have had that same conversation.  No matter how well EA SPORTS does upon their release in 2010 it will be a hard road.  Undisputed managed to sell over 1,000,000 units in its first month, and they outsold one of my favorite games right now, EA SPORTS Fight Night Round 4 in its 1st month, 2nd for UFC.  Obviously this is another feather in the cap of the UFC, and THQ’s product. 

2.       So is there room for 2 games?  Mark Cuban and Trump seem to think there is room for 2 leagues but so did Pride and the XFL.   I will tell you PSD’ers out there EA SPORTS MMA will have to blow the roof off in game play, career modes, etc to even compete, but from the insider perspective they have a dedicated team.  It will be tough UFC is so dominate and like my lil buddy Drewseph recently told me, “they will be the NFL of MMA soon if they are not already.” 

3.       My last point and most interesting topic is the news just coming out of the EA SPORTS camp in their 1st of many roster releases for EA SPORTS MMA.  EA signed Fedor Emelianenko, the world’s top ranked MMA heavyweight.  Now it is no secret Dana White salivates over having Fedor in the UFC.  Now he isn’t hurting for money without him, but what a big get that would be.  So the wrench in the situation is Mr White has recently said anyone who is on the EA SPORTS MMA roster will never fight in the UFC, now I know the UFC roster, but I will not risk my job telling you juggheads. So will White backdown to get Fedor ever?  I can tell you as a EA SPORTS4lifer, I found it real funny when EA SPORTS released this roster a few weeks after White’s bold statements. 

4.       Let me also take on White’s quotes, “EA Sports told us, ‘You’re not a real sport,'” White said. “‘We wouldn’t touch this thing. We want nothing to do with this.”  First off, is he trying to turn this into the WWE?  EA SPORTS like UFC is a billion dollar company, they don’t go into meetings with other prominent companies just to tell you your activity isn’t a sport.  I don’t buy that for a second.  EA SPORTS and the powers that be might have said, “we want to go in a different direction” or “UFC isn’t something we want to pursue”  But Peter Moore and JR didn’t set in a meeting or on a conference call with White and tell him “UFC isn’t a sport”  I call malarkey.  White also claims EA SPORTS wouldn’t even talk to UFC, they wanted to have nothing to do with them, “They wouldn’t even take a meeting because mixed martial arts disgusted them.”  Now I am confused what exactly EA SPORTS did.  Look, if it seems like I am defending the company that puts food on my mini-dachshunds table, yes I am.  But c’mon no matter how much you love the UFC I’m starting to think Dana White is taking “How to become Vince McMahon classes”.  If you don’t believe me read this last quote from a man who owns a billion dollar company.  “I’m not tap-dancing around this thing or whateve
r, I’m telling you straight-up, I’m at war with them right now.That’s how I look at it.”  War really?  OK well let me call by boy KG, throw on my EA SPORTS tee shirt, we will load up the pump, load up the Uzis, get a couple of M-16s, couple of nines, couple of joints with some silencers on them, couple of grenades, get a missile launcher. We’re also ready for war. 


Oh and I take Peter Moore over Dana White in the Octagon.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

